Author Topic: Ripping N64 models to put into Turok  (Read 2468 times)

Offline Duke64

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2051
  • T:REP 7043
  • Sixty Four
    • View Profile
    • Duke64Nukem.com
Ripping N64 models to put into Turok
« on: January 03, 2017, 01:09:15 AM »
Who is better at modelling than me and can rip modules from N64 games and put them into a working obj format? I have done some but it is quite tough xD I think it would be pretty awesome to rip some random N64 game stuff into Turok. Snake showed me something he was working on and it gave me that idea. I want to put Diddy Kong Racing hub into Turok xD I also started messing with a 007 level. But hey with a model like this in the game where I can place it on the level editor (hard part for me) I could have it a working level in no time.

If you have any of your own ideas for possible levels/models to put into Turok feel free to share also. Here is the two I was fooling around with:



« Last Edit: January 03, 2017, 01:11:16 AM by Duke64 »
Dinosaur Hunter
"Its time to make tracks"
"You are tiny grasshopper"
"Suck it down"
"Boo, No soup for you"
"Arrrgghhhh"
"I live again"

Offline Dinomite

  • Chronoscepter
  • ******
  • Posts: 2694
  • T:REP 8311
    • View Profile
Re: Ripping N64 models to put into Turok
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2017, 04:24:24 AM »
You used Lemmys 3D Extractor plugin. I must say though duke, the textures are always wrong with it so if you need to put em on there you gotta resize them and stuff.
I cant model for shit, sadly so im not any help... :(

The most hated person on the internet.

Offline Rok

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 772
  • T:REP 2338
    • View Profile
Re: Ripping N64 models to put into Turok
« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2017, 11:43:42 AM »
Why is Wizpigs head in the ground lol? Awesome idea what about something from Zelda OOT?!
Raptor Rok is metal.

Offline Dinomite

  • Chronoscepter
  • ******
  • Posts: 2694
  • T:REP 8311
    • View Profile
Re: Ripping N64 models to put into Turok
« Reply #3 on: January 03, 2017, 11:48:28 AM »
Why is Wizpigs head in the ground lol? Awesome idea what about something from Zelda OOT?!
Well obviously he was in the hub as a statue. :P And oot stuff has been done alot before, like for gmod.

The most hated person on the internet.

Offline Duke64

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2051
  • T:REP 7043
  • Sixty Four
    • View Profile
    • Duke64Nukem.com
Re: Ripping N64 models to put into Turok
« Reply #4 on: January 03, 2017, 07:53:08 PM »
Why is Wizpigs head in the ground lol? Awesome idea what about something from Zelda OOT?!
Well obviously he was in the hub as a statue. :P And oot stuff has been done alot before, like for gmod.

Right, there probably is already ripped model files of Zelda oot out there where we wouldn't even have to everyone does that one xD but it would be cool in Turok though.

Yeah Dinomite it was Lemmy's tool indeed. Models drive me mad xD

I imagine Wizpigs head is in the ground because the model is actually an actor/statue? Its an actor for the game since the textures actually turn colors while you progress through the game and then the mouth opens. Don't quote me on why its there though lol. It wont be hard to pick it up and move it into place right there on the wall though xD
« Last Edit: January 03, 2017, 08:06:13 PM by Duke64 »
Dinosaur Hunter
"Its time to make tracks"
"You are tiny grasshopper"
"Suck it down"
"Boo, No soup for you"
"Arrrgghhhh"
"I live again"

Offline Dinomite

  • Chronoscepter
  • ******
  • Posts: 2694
  • T:REP 8311
    • View Profile
Re: Ripping N64 models to put into Turok
« Reply #5 on: September 03, 2018, 05:48:19 PM »
Why is Wizpigs head in the ground lol? Awesome idea what about something from Zelda OOT?!
Well obviously he was in the hub as a statue. :P And oot stuff has been done alot before, like for gmod.

Right, there probably is already ripped model files of Zelda oot out there where we wouldn't even have to everyone does that one xD but it would be cool in Turok though.

Yeah Dinomite it was Lemmy's tool indeed. Models drive me mad xD

I imagine Wizpigs head is in the ground because the model is actually an actor/statue? Its an actor for the game since the textures actually turn colors while you progress through the game and then the mouth opens. Don't quote me on why its there though lol. It wont be hard to pick it up and move it into place right there on the wall though xD
You've used Lemmy for the DKR and Smash maps too right?

The most hated person on the internet.

Offline Duke64

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2051
  • T:REP 7043
  • Sixty Four
    • View Profile
    • Duke64Nukem.com
Re: Ripping N64 models to put into Turok
« Reply #6 on: September 04, 2018, 11:20:50 PM »
Haha funny to look back at this thread now lol. Yep Dodongo's cavern and Big Boo's mansion those I extracted using Lemmy's plug in which is in credits for those two also, I still love this plug in it will last a long time. Most of that stuff is made from scratch though.
Dinosaur Hunter
"Its time to make tracks"
"You are tiny grasshopper"
"Suck it down"
"Boo, No soup for you"
"Arrrgghhhh"
"I live again"

Offline Dinomite

  • Chronoscepter
  • ******
  • Posts: 2694
  • T:REP 8311
    • View Profile
Re: Ripping N64 models to put into Turok
« Reply #7 on: September 06, 2018, 02:35:04 PM »
 :feather:

The most hated person on the internet.

Offline Snake Plissken

  • Endtrail
  • ****
  • Posts: 195
  • T:REP 792
    • View Profile
Re: Ripping N64 models to put into Turok
« Reply #8 on: November 20, 2018, 08:14:54 AM »
Who is better at modelling than me and can rip modules from N64 games and put them into a working obj format? I have done some but it is quite tough xD I think it would be pretty awesome to rip some random N64 game stuff into Turok. Snake showed me something he was working on and it gave me that idea. I want to put Diddy Kong Racing hub into Turok xD I also started messing with a 007 level. But hey with a model like this in the game where I can place it on the level editor (hard part for me) I could have it a working level in no time.

If you have any of your own ideas for possible levels/models to put into Turok feel free to share also. Here is the two I was fooling around with:





How are you ripping the levels? Note: with a direct x ripper on a n64 emulator you'll notice that you'll have to aim the gun up at a aqute angle compared to its straight on original position, inorder to get a unscewed/angled model. I like to put a direct x ripper over the goldeneye/perfect dark editor and open the visual window followed by loading the entire level, then ripping.

The only problem with perfect dark and golden eye levels is that there are sprites through out the level that are layered against the level model and they can be a pain to remove/or work with.


I wish that editor loaded Duke nukem zero hour maps, that would be epic.

Offline TeslaDeCastaka

  • Iguana
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • T:REP 3
    • View Profile
Re: Ripping N64 models to put into Turok
« Reply #9 on: November 20, 2018, 01:33:07 PM »
Ciao, hello, first time here for me, and its a great pleasure. Sorry for bad english.

I dont much know about tools modding, but im good at having silly ideas!
for levels suggestion:
-DonkeyKong64 (for what i remember it was not a lot platformer and have a strong beat'em'up/shooter gameplay/design)
-Jet Force gemini

for both level and models:
-ShadowMan
-Body Harvest (probably not possible for the map cause was an open world, and the bug-foes models was low poly and lowres(and slow/statical behaviour), but i think the old style sci-fi feeling and visuals it have can be a real "overjoy" for old age nerd like me, and Tal'Set of course ahaha.