Author Topic: Turok 2 & Multiplayer: Bug Reports Only  (Read 5187 times)

Offline Mon-Ark

  • Endtrail
  • ****
  • Posts: 154
  • T:REP 485
    • View Profile
Re: Turok 2 & Multiplayer: Bug Reports Only
« Reply #10 on: April 13, 2017, 01:03:51 PM »
I dont think theres a fix for the ping you get when playing with someone from another region. Has always been like that for me in other games other than this one.

And I dont think upgrading yout internet speed makes a huge impact. I used to play a half-life1 online mod, and wethever my internet was 100kb/sec or 1MB/sec didnt matter a whole lot in the end.

Only way around this "could" be an option for p2p network, which I believe the online services of some games on consoles tend to use.

I'm not expecting it to be perfect if I get faster broadband, but at least a little bit more improved. My upload speed seems to be slow at times, especially uploading a PS4 game save to a PS+ cloud. I hope they're working on a server, as you mentioned. It might make weapons fire at their proper frame rates for everyone?

I forgot all about the PFM kill animation until you brought it up. When I was last playing single player before the update, I noticed how this weapon can be a bit useless at times and not even kill or hurt the smaller enemies (Mites & Workers) of the Hive. However, it was more effective on others players in multiplayer.

For now theres the "network speed" option.

From what I could see, its exclusively works for whoever hosts the server. You basically compromise your side so the joining players have a lower ping, however on your side their movement will look more or less jerky depiending on how low you set it (also if you use this option make sure to disable enemy motion blur, otherwise other players will look like blurry ghosts whenever they move)

setting it at 30hz is a good middleground (at 15hz the player's movement is like a slideshow), and a player with a ping of 350 got down by 100 (250 ping)

Offline AbyssalDragon86

  • Dimetrodon
  • ****
  • Posts: 347
  • T:REP 1069
  • Lord of The Abyss
    • View Profile
    • YouTube
Re: Turok 2 & Multiplayer: Bug Reports Only
« Reply #11 on: April 14, 2017, 12:06:32 AM »
So, 60Hz is too much if you host?

À la vie, à la mort.
Steam: AbyssalDragon86

Offline Old One Eye

  • Raptor
  • ***
  • Posts: 141
  • T:REP 517
    • View Profile
Re: Turok 2 & Multiplayer: Bug Reports Only
« Reply #12 on: April 14, 2017, 07:14:56 AM »
I ran a game at 60Hz the other night.  There were only two of us in the game so I don't know if that makes much difference.

I'm in the UK and the other player is in the States.  His ping was under 200.  It was very playable.
"It's gotta be... THE GOAD!!"

Offline Mon-Ark

  • Endtrail
  • ****
  • Posts: 154
  • T:REP 485
    • View Profile
Re: Turok 2 & Multiplayer: Bug Reports Only
« Reply #13 on: April 14, 2017, 01:35:56 PM »
60hz is the default, you lower it to see if it improves client's ping at the expense of the host seeing everyone move at a lower framerate.
If everything is fine you leave it at 60.

Offline Edward850

  • Nightdive Devs
  • *****
  • Posts: 23
  • T:REP 83
    • View Profile
Re: Turok 2 & Multiplayer: Bug Reports Only
« Reply #14 on: April 14, 2017, 03:55:23 PM »
For now theres the "network speed" option.

From what I could see, its exclusively works for whoever hosts the server.
Nope, clients and server. The resulting connection speed for a node on the server is the slowest configured speed between server<->client. So a server at 60Hz and client at 30Hz, the connection is at 30Hz for that client. If the server is at 30Hz, no client can be faster than 30Hz, but can still be lower.

I posted a complete guide to explain what any any and all multiplayer options do. http://steamcommunity.com/app/405830/discussions/0/135514402720424070/

Offline Mon-Ark

  • Endtrail
  • ****
  • Posts: 154
  • T:REP 485
    • View Profile
Re: Turok 2 & Multiplayer: Bug Reports Only
« Reply #15 on: April 14, 2017, 04:11:34 PM »
Oh, I see, cool.

It was just that the only time I ever saw an improvement was when I hosted and forced everyone at 30hz. When I was the client I set it at lower than 60hz it didnt show any improvement to my connection.

Offline Old One Eye

  • Raptor
  • ***
  • Posts: 141
  • T:REP 517
    • View Profile
Re: Turok 2 & Multiplayer: Bug Reports Only
« Reply #16 on: April 15, 2017, 07:54:38 AM »
Hey Edward.  Welcome to the forum.   We'll treat you gently, I promise. :)
"It's gotta be... THE GOAD!!"

Offline Dinomite

  • Chronoscepter
  • ******
  • Posts: 2684
  • T:REP 8281
    • View Profile
Re: Turok 2 & Multiplayer: Bug Reports Only
« Reply #17 on: April 15, 2017, 08:20:19 AM »
For now theres the "network speed" option.

From what I could see, its exclusively works for whoever hosts the server.
Nope, clients and server. The resulting connection speed for a node on the server is the slowest configured speed between server<->client. So a server at 60Hz and client at 30Hz, the connection is at 30Hz for that client. If the server is at 30Hz, no client can be faster than 30Hz, but can still be lower.

I posted a complete guide to explain what any any and all multiplayer options do. http://steamcommunity.com/app/405830/discussions/0/135514402720424070/
Welcome to the forum, dude. Enjoy your stay. We will make sure nobody will be nasty to you just as we do with other members.  :)

The most hated person on the internet.

Offline AbyssalDragon86

  • Dimetrodon
  • ****
  • Posts: 347
  • T:REP 1069
  • Lord of The Abyss
    • View Profile
    • YouTube
Re: Turok 2 & Multiplayer: Bug Reports Only
« Reply #18 on: April 16, 2017, 12:15:41 PM »
For now theres the "network speed" option.

From what I could see, its exclusively works for whoever hosts the server.
Nope, clients and server. The resulting connection speed for a node on the server is the slowest configured speed between server<->client. So a server at 60Hz and client at 30Hz, the connection is at 30Hz for that client. If the server is at 30Hz, no client can be faster than 30Hz, but can still be lower.

I posted a complete guide to explain what any any and all multiplayer options do. http://steamcommunity.com/app/405830/discussions/0/135514402720424070/

Thanks for posting this and welcome! :)

À la vie, à la mort.
Steam: AbyssalDragon86

Offline Jay Doomed

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 992
  • T:REP 3072
    • View Profile
Re: Turok 2 & Multiplayer: Bug Reports Only
« Reply #19 on: April 19, 2017, 10:55:24 AM »

Nope, clients and server. The resulting connection speed for a node on the server is the slowest configured speed between server<->client. So a server at 60Hz and client at 30Hz, the connection is at 30Hz for that client. If the server is at 30Hz, no client can be faster than 30Hz, but can still be lower.

I posted a complete guide to explain what any any and all multiplayer options do. http://steamcommunity.com/app/405830/discussions/0/135514402720424070/

Hey thanks for increasing shotgun/grenade dmg in mp! That was actually something I really hoped for.
"Whatever it is, it doesn't belong in this world."