Author Topic: Turok 3 Mouse Input and other goodies  (Read 1854 times)

Offline Drahsid

  • Dimetrodon
  • ****
  • Posts: 270
  • T:REP 921
  • That I be considered worthy
    • View Profile
Turok 3 Mouse Input and other goodies
« on: February 07, 2020, 04:10:23 PM »
What is this?
Knockoff Turok 3 EX?
This is NOT a PC port. This is merely a collection of memory hacks that have sprung from my reverse engineering utilizing my fork of Mupen64Plus

What does this give you?
  • Mouse input with customizable look-sensitivity
  • 60 FPS mode
  • Custom FOV

What problem does this solve?
This completely bypasses the joystick, so you are not limited to the game's interpretation of the stick input. You are not limited to the -128-127 range on either axis.
Furthermore, who doesn't want to play at 60 FPS?

Cool. How do I get it?
Download any version of Mupen64Plus that is not Mupen64Plus-nx!!
Download and extract this into the root directory of Mupen64. This should replace "mupen64plus.dll", and you should see a new folder called "scripts."
That's it, run Turok 3 in Mupen!

Note that for proper keyboard controls, you will have to configure the input of Mupen to use your desired buttons. I will not go over how to do that but do highly suggest sharing your configurations when you get something that you like.

How do I configure the options?
In the Mupen64Plus directory, navigate to ./scripts/Turok 3 - Shadow of Oblivion (U) [!]/ and edit MouseInput.wren with your text editor of choice. The options have comments describing their relevance.

Bugs
  • If you get an issue related to the input plugin, replace it with this
  • When playing at 60 fps, some levels cannot be completed due to some scaling issues.
  • Climbing ladders is inconsistent and sometimes buggy.
  • You cannot modify the FOV when running in dynarec mode

Other notes
You can press  HOME to lock/unlock the mouse
If you fancy learning a high level scripting language, you can use what I have already set up to make more memory hacks that may do a plethora of things.

Special thanks to Kaiser
« Last Edit: February 07, 2020, 05:42:12 PM by Drahsid »
Well that didn't work

Offline MecaCool

  • Raptor
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
  • T:REP 367
  • Trying to be as Humble as I can be to Others.
    • View Profile
Re: Turok 3 Mouse Input and other goodies
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2020, 05:54:11 PM »
What is this?
Knockoff Turok 3 EX?
This is NOT a PC port. This is merely a collection of memory hacks that have sprung from my reverse engineering utilizing my fork of Mupen64Plus

What does this give you?
  • Mouse input with customizable look-sensitivity
  • 60 FPS mode
  • Custom FOV

What problem does this solve?
This completely bypasses the joystick, so you are not limited to the game's interpretation of the stick input. You are not limited to the -128-127 range on either axis.
Furthermore, who doesn't want to play at 60 FPS?

Cool. How do I get it?
Download any version of Mupen64Plus that is not Mupen64Plus-nx!!
Download and extract this into the root directory of Mupen64. This should replace "mupen64plus.dll", and you should see a new folder called "scripts."
That's it, run Turok 3 in Mupen!

Note that for proper keyboard controls, you will have to configure the input of Mupen to use your desired buttons. I will not go over how to do that but do highly suggest sharing your configurations when you get something that you like.

How do I configure the options?
In the Mupen64Plus directory, navigate to ./scripts/Turok 3 - Shadow of Oblivion (U) [!]/ and edit MouseInput.wren with your text editor of choice. The options have comments describing their relevance.

Bugs
  • If you get an issue related to the input plugin, replace it with this
  • When playing at 60 fps, some levels cannot be completed due to some scaling issues.
  • Climbing ladders is inconsistent and sometimes buggy.
  • You cannot modify the FOV when running in dynarec mode

Other notes
You can press  HOME to lock/unlock the mouse
If you fancy learning a high level scripting language, you can use what I have already set up to make more memory hacks that may do a plethora of things.

Special thanks to Kaiser

Holy shit dude nice, I just sent this to a streamer I watch he has been wanting this but for project64 but I don't know if he will try it but I'm sure he will.
A c++ and c Programmer.

Offline Drahsid

  • Dimetrodon
  • ****
  • Posts: 270
  • T:REP 921
  • That I be considered worthy
    • View Profile
Re: Turok 3 Mouse Input and other goodies
« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2020, 08:52:43 PM »
Let me know when he's live, I'd love to watch!
Well that didn't work

Offline MecaCool

  • Raptor
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
  • T:REP 367
  • Trying to be as Humble as I can be to Others.
    • View Profile
Re: Turok 3 Mouse Input and other goodies
« Reply #3 on: February 08, 2020, 10:17:17 PM »
Let me know when he's live, I'd love to watch!


He is live here https://www.twitch.tv/bzplasma by the way not sure if he will play it.
A c++ and c Programmer.

Offline Nutshot

  • Iguana
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • T:REP 66
    • View Profile
Re: Turok 3 Mouse Input and other goodies
« Reply #4 on: February 09, 2020, 02:51:42 PM »
YES!
Thank you so much.
I will try that immediatly out now. :D
« Last Edit: February 10, 2020, 12:06:59 PM by Nutshot »

Offline Nutshot

  • Iguana
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • T:REP 66
    • View Profile
Re: Turok 3 Mouse Input and other goodies
« Reply #5 on: February 10, 2020, 12:07:14 PM »
Okay, so i notice a few things before i could even really try it out.
So you wrote that we should use any version of Mupen64Plus that is not Mupen64Plus-nx.

I normally use mupen64plus-gui from here:
https://github.com/m64p/mupen64plus-gui
With this one i can´t even get to the point of launching any game. Mupen gives me this error:
"Couldn´t load core library, please set the path in settings."
I have that already set, and it´s pointing at it´s dll in the correct folder, but it seems it wants to simply ignore it, which is sad cause i really want to use this Frontend.

The second i use is M64Py from:
http://m64py.sourceforge.net/
I can get it to load the Game as it should. Except nothing i change in the config (MouseInput.wren) does anything. I changed the FOV to 90, FPS to 60 or MAX. But nothing changed. I restarted the Emu and Game multiple times. I still noticed the inbuilt FPS Counter was still on 30 FPS so i think i am doing something wrong?

Offline Drahsid

  • Dimetrodon
  • ****
  • Posts: 270
  • T:REP 921
  • That I be considered worthy
    • View Profile
Re: Turok 3 Mouse Input and other goodies
« Reply #6 on: February 10, 2020, 03:49:03 PM »
You cannot modify the FOV when running in dynarec mode. Possibly similar issues with fps.
Quite frankly, you shouldn't use a frontend, they all suck.
Well that didn't work

Offline Nutshot

  • Iguana
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • T:REP 66
    • View Profile
Re: Turok 3 Mouse Input and other goodies
« Reply #7 on: February 10, 2020, 04:02:51 PM »
Aha.
So i should only using the last Release from here is what you´re saying?
https://github.com/mupen64plus/mupen64plus-core/releases

But then it seems also the "Download any version of Mupen64Plus" is missleading, i guess... (no offense).
But... i don´t know any other. What are you using?
« Last Edit: February 10, 2020, 04:05:25 PM by Nutshot »

Offline MecaCool

  • Raptor
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
  • T:REP 367
  • Trying to be as Humble as I can be to Others.
    • View Profile
Re: Turok 3 Mouse Input and other goodies
« Reply #8 on: February 11, 2020, 12:00:19 PM »
Aha.
So i should only using the last Release from here is what you´re saying?
https://github.com/mupen64plus/mupen64plus-core/releases

But then it seems also the "Download any version of Mupen64Plus" is missleading, i guess... (no offense).
But... i don´t know any other. What are you using?

I see what the problem is @Nutshot.
He has is own fork of Mupen64Plus, so he would need to give you that compiled version of the binaries including the "exe" & all the other binaries, not just the "dll".
This is why others are having some issues as well.
The "dll" He gives you is compiled from another fork his own fork of Mupen64Plus, so if he coded, some new functions ext in Mupen64Plus, he would have to give you the new version of Mupen64Plus binaries.

@Drahsid Some advice if you do some coding in not just the "dll" project but also the modifying of the application project then you need to release the new build.
You, can't expect someone to use an outdated Mupen64Plus with your "dll" because it shares as a reference and called from the application project no matter if you just did code from one project alone.

@Drahsid compile your fork and update your post with new links to the new fork build project so people will not have issues with your mouse input goodie ;)
He should have known that prior before he released this @Drahsid. But a simple mistake I'm sure.
« Last Edit: February 11, 2020, 12:02:28 PM by MecaCool »
A c++ and c Programmer.

Offline Drahsid

  • Dimetrodon
  • ****
  • Posts: 270
  • T:REP 921
  • That I be considered worthy
    • View Profile
Re: Turok 3 Mouse Input and other goodies
« Reply #9 on: February 12, 2020, 12:47:02 AM »
@Drahsid Some advice if you do some coding in not just the "dll" project but also the modifying of the application project then you need to release the new build.
You, can't expect someone to use an outdated Mupen64Plus with your "dll" because it shares as a reference and called from the application project no matter if you just did code from one project alone.

This is absolute nonsense, you don't understand how Mupen64Plus is structured. Go ahead, compile my fork. You'll realize that the output is just the dll. Most front ends are garbage, but should still work if their executable is from the latest version of Mupen64Plus. All you need to run this is the dll and the script, exactly what I provided. There is no mistake in what I released.

The only issues that is related to Mupen is with the input plugin, which seems to be an SDL problem. Nothing to do with having a more up to date library.

@Drahsid compile your fork and update your post with new links to the new fork build project so people will not have issues with your mouse input goodie ;)
He should have known that prior before he released this @Drahsid. But a simple mistake I'm sure.
You should try it. It might clear up your confusion.
« Last Edit: February 12, 2020, 12:47:47 AM by Drahsid »
Well that didn't work

 

SimplePortal 2.3.6 © 2008-2014, SimplePortal