Author Topic: Turok RW Mouse Input  (Read 4896 times)

Offline Drahsid

  • Dimetrodon
  • ****
  • Posts: 275
  • T:REP 936
  • That I be considered worthy
    • View Profile
Turok RW Mouse Input
« on: February 15, 2020, 07:25:00 PM »
What is this?
Knockoff Turok RW EX?
This is NOT a PC port. This is merely a collection of memory hacks that have sprung from my reverse engineering utilizing my fork of Mupen64Plus

What does this give you?
  • Mouse input with customizable look-sensitivity

What problem does this solve?
This completely bypasses the joystick, so you are not limited to the game's interpretation of the stick input. You are not limited to the -128-127 range on either axis.

Cool. How do I get it?
Download any version of Mupen64Plus that is not Mupen64Plus-nx!!
Download and extract this into the root directory of Mupen64. This should replace "mupen64plus.dll", and you should see a new folder called "scripts."
That's it, run Turok RW in Mupen!

Note that for proper keyboard controls, you will have to configure the input of Mupen to use your desired buttons. I will not go over how to do that but do highly suggest sharing your configurations when you get something that you like.

How do I configure the options?
In the Mupen64Plus directory, navigate to ./scripts/Turok - Rage Wars (U) (V1.0) [!]/ and edit MouseInput.wren with your text editor of choice. The options have comments describing their relevance.

Bugs
  • If you get an issue related to the input plugin, replace it with this

Other notes
You can press  HOME to lock/unlock the mouse
If you fancy learning a high level scripting language, you can use what I have already set up to make more memory hacks that may do a plethora of things.

Special thanks to Kaiser
Well that didn't work

Offline Nutshot

  • Iguana
  • *
  • Posts: 25
  • T:REP 93
    • View Profile
Re: Turok RW Mouse Input
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2020, 04:11:09 AM »
Oh my God. How did i missed this?
Of course i missed this cause i constantly stayed in the Turok 3 Thread.
This is so great. Thank you.

Offline Dinomite

  • Chronoscepter
  • ******
  • Posts: 3084
  • T:REP 9378
    • View Profile
Re: Turok RW Mouse Input
« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2020, 05:18:59 PM »
This already existed before you made this version and it ran at 60 fps.

The most hated person on the internet.

Offline Drahsid

  • Dimetrodon
  • ****
  • Posts: 275
  • T:REP 936
  • That I be considered worthy
    • View Profile
Re: Turok RW Mouse Input
« Reply #3 on: April 20, 2020, 09:33:29 PM »
I didn't know about that until after I made this.
Besides that, what I made is more easily customizable in terms of the mouse controls, and no, the program that you're talking about does not run at 60 fps.
Well that didn't work

Offline Dinomite

  • Chronoscepter
  • ******
  • Posts: 3084
  • T:REP 9378
    • View Profile
Re: Turok RW Mouse Input
« Reply #4 on: April 21, 2020, 07:31:50 AM »
I didn't know about that until after I made this.
Besides that, what I made is more easily customizable in terms of the mouse controls, and no, the program that you're talking about does not run at 60 fps.
It does. I think you're refering to something else.

The most hated person on the internet.

Offline Nutshot

  • Iguana
  • *
  • Posts: 25
  • T:REP 93
    • View Profile
Re: Turok RW Mouse Input
« Reply #5 on: April 24, 2020, 02:35:00 AM »
Seeing your awesome Turok 3 Mouse Input and this here, i wonder do you have anything else in the pocket or are these the only ones?
We already have a perfect Port from Carnivorous (if you know him) for Goldeneye/Perfect Dark. Seeing how good you are at this stuff, the only thing missing from N64 is "007: The World is not Enough".
Carnivorous actually did one before, but it was with Project64 only.  :sick:
How you doing it with Mupen it feels so much better.
Also the inbuilt extras you do like higher FPS/FOV, which 007 would greatly appreciate from it i think.
I know this is a Turok Forum, but i don´t know where i should ask about this.
Thanks for all the great contributions.  :have a nice day:
« Last Edit: April 24, 2020, 02:37:54 AM by Nutshot »

Offline Dinomite

  • Chronoscepter
  • ******
  • Posts: 3084
  • T:REP 9378
    • View Profile
Re: Turok RW Mouse Input
« Reply #6 on: September 26, 2020, 02:27:08 PM »
Seeing your awesome Turok 3 Mouse Input and this here, i wonder do you have anything else in the pocket or are these the only ones?
We already have a perfect Port from Carnivorous (if you know him) for Goldeneye/Perfect Dark. Seeing how good you are at this stuff, the only thing missing from N64 is "007: The World is not Enough".
Carnivorous actually did one before, but it was with Project64 only.  :sick:
How you doing it with Mupen it feels so much better.
Also the inbuilt extras you do like higher FPS/FOV, which 007 would greatly appreciate from it i think.
I know this is a Turok Forum, but i don´t know where i should ask about this.
Thanks for all the great contributions.  :have a nice day:
I agree wholeheartedly!

The most hated person on the internet.

Offline Cpfuzzy

  • Iguana
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • T:REP 3
    • View Profile
Re: Turok RW Mouse Input
« Reply #7 on: November 10, 2020, 01:41:25 PM »
Sorry to post my problems here but I don't know this Mupen64Plus works on Windows 10, I'm used to Project64 and I downloaded the Mupen64Plus and I see a application in the folder "mupen64plus-ui-console" but when I open it, it will just close down again, I really wanna try this mouse hack but just can't figure out how to work this thing.

 

SimplePortal 2.3.6 © 2008-2014, SimplePortal